The ultimate pack goat.......in theory
As some of you know I am new to pack goats and am excited to get my first buckling from Dave at Trinity Pack Goats. Many of you know Curt King from the old forum. Curt lent my the book "The Pack Goat" by John Mioncyynski. What a great read. In the book John discusses how all domesticated goats come from wild ibex. John also shares some of his thoughts on how the different species of wild goats (mostly different ibex species) still have characteristics in our modern breeds. I was fascinated with how wild goats have hind hocks that point together, allowing them more "spring" in their step for climbing. All this got my brain churningBig Grin

I started researching the different species of wild ibex, and learned although Nubian Ibex (nothing like dairy Nubians) were the most common amongst breeders here in the US. Most breeders use them on hunting ranches, but there are a few that just enjoy having them. Nubian ibex tend to be more high strung. The Alpine Ibex is the largest of the different species, is the most docile in captivity, and although have large horns they are more of a half moon shape and not as long. I will be keeping a horned herd, but those monster horns that keep curling would be too cumbersome on the trail I would think. So I wanted to cross an Alpine Ibex with a domesticated doe like an Alpine or Oberhasli.

I also found this cool study in Europe where a small band of escaped dairy does formed a herd with an Alpine ibex buck in the Alps. They found 1st and 2nd generations of hybrids that were even bigger than the wild ibexs. They ended up killing all the hybrids as Alpines were endangered in that region, and the gene pool needed cleaning before transplanting more from Italy.
http://www.wildlifebiology.com/Downloads...ometti.pdf