Hi from Australia
Hi, I am new to goats, having recently gotten out of horses after a lifetime of throwing my income at my various equine pursuits. I have been riding all my life and carriage driving for the past 6 or so years, starting most of my horses in harness myself.
I am a keen bushwalker and having some animals along to share the load will be great- especially animals cheaper than horses Wink
I contemplated llamas as a pack animal, but I settled on goats.
I will be picking up two little Toggenburg guys next month and starting their handling and my own goat-education simultaneously. I look forward to reading  through the forums.

I am sure I will turn heads in my small town, I used to be the lady who would stop at cafes in her horse and carriage, now I will be the crazy goat lady!
Welcome! I also started with horses and tried all kinds of different disciplines, including driving. I'm still into horses, but I added the goats to my life as well. I even trained a goat carriage driving team!

You definitely don't want llamas as pack animals! They're just not friendly and cuddly like goats, and I discovered on a recent pack trip that they tolerate people but don't really want to be with them, which is so very different from goats. I can't even sneak off into the bushes for a quiet potty break without my whole crew coming along to supervise!

I hear great things about Toggs as packgoats. They're shorter than many other breeds but very sturdy and strong. In the U.S. at least, they are renowned for their solid, correct feet and legs.

Best of luck in your caprine pursuits! I look forward to hearing about your adventures.
Thanks Nanno!
Oh great, glad I made the right choice despite my ignorance of both llamas and goats. I like friendly/personable creatures, some company while I potty out in the bush will be fine by me ;-)