Student project: Goats for Water
Lightbulb 
Hello kind folks,

I'll briefly introduce myself: my name is Senne, and I'm an Industrial Design student from Belgium. I am currently in my graduation year, and one of our courses requires us to create a small business project. What this means is really simple: we need to create a startup company in a team of three students and try to launch our own product.

Our team decided to start from a well-known issue; water scarcity in sub-saharan Africa, more specifically the Sahel region. Said region is very dry with water sources spread out across the land. This requires the inhabitants to walk miles and miles on end just to fetch water to be able to cook. Women and children are mostly the ones tasked with this intensive labour; for them, fetching water dominates the day. It pushes aside all other activities, such as education and free time to play and develop personal interests. The problem statement is shown in detail in the video below, which was made by an organization called "living water africa":

By now, you're probably wondering where you, the Pack Goat Central board visitor, comes in. Let me elaborate on that. What we also know, is that Africa is a continent with a very high amount of goats. In the Sahel region, they are mostly kept for their meat and milk, and families often have herds of goats themselves. We aim to make these herds serve a bigger purpose: to task them with the labour of fetching water, so that children have the time to go to school and women are able to partake in cash-generating business activities.