Very basic pack goat question
Hi!!  I don't pack with my goats ( I plan to when they are older) but I hike with them all the time.  We are on trails and they are usually not leashed or tied, although I always have leashes with me.

Lately my goat hikes have been very slow because my wether Miguel (yearling) insists on getting in front of me and then moving very slowly.  When I attemp to pass him he speeds up to prevent it and then slows down again.  It is very irritating and I need to train him to stay behind me on the trail.

He is generally very sweet and smart, but he is a big boy and can tend to be a bit of a brat.  He is a fast learner.  

So what is the best method to train him to stay behind me on the trail??  Thanks!!
Hi, I am just a beginner as well, but I think you need to stop him from getting in front of you. Either use a trekking pole to keep him from getting around, or use a squirt bottle and stop him when he tries to pass . Another option is to just change directions when he passes. He needs to learn that you are in charge. Good luck.
I have this problem with some of my youngsters from time to time. Jimr is right: a stick is a great tool for preventing goats from rushing past you unless the trail is very wide. When we're in a place where I can't prevent them running ahead (wide road, meadow), I'll make life miserable for the goat that tries to walk directly in front of me. I step on his heels, I bump him in the bottom with my knees, or I bop him with a stick until he figures out that directly in front of me is not a pleasant place to walk. A squirt gun is also a really good idea. Notice that the dominant goats in your herd do not tolerate a subordinate walking right in front of them. They butt them hard in the tail to make them move out of the way. When you allow your goat to walk in front of you and set the pace, you are essentially telling him that he's the boss.