Hard vs. Soft Saddles
Hi Everyone,

I am new to goat-packing and have a question. In researching for a saddle to buy I have come across two choices. One is a soft saddle like the one linked here Soft Saddle and a typical hard saddle like the one linked here Hard Saddle

What are the pro's and con's for each? I plan on doing several day hikes and want my goats to enjoy the trip as much as myself. Thank you for your time, -- John
Basically, the soft saddle will warp more under heavier loads and you will therefore be restricted on how much your goats can carry comfortably.

How old/big are your goats?
--------------------------------------
Sabine from Germany
[Image: zoVgi.gif]

(06-07-2014, 09:32 PM)Sanhestar Wrote: Basically, the soft saddle will warp more under heavier loads and you will therefore be restricted on how much your goats can carry comfortably.

How old/big are your goats?

Thanks for the reply Sanhestar:
I don't have any goats yet, just in the process of researching each area of the sport.
It just seemed to me that the "soft" saddle would still spread the weight over the same surface area of the back, while offering the custom fit feel every time for the animal. In talking with pack-horse users, that sport only offers the hard version....but that could be solely due to the larger weights. If 50 lbs is the most to be ever put on the animal, maybe only 40 of it being the panniers it seems from the surface a viable option. Has anyone had any experience with a soft saddle?